Press Release

न्धोलाना आज़ाद नेशनल उर्दू यूनिवर्सिटी مولانا آزاد نیشنل اُردویو نیورگ

MAULANA AZAD NATIONAL URDU UNIVERSITY (A Central University established by an Act of Parliament in 1998)

Gachibowli, Hyderabad - 500 032 TS Ph: 040 - 23006612-15 Ext. 1370

email: pro@manuu.edu.in, proffice@manuu.edu.in, website: www.manuu.ac.in



September 18, 2019

MANUU Students Union elections today

Hyderabad:

Maulana Azad National Urdu University, Students' Union (MSU) election for academic year 2019-20 will be held tomorrow on September 19 from 9.00 am to 1.00 pm at Indoor Stadium, MANUU Campus in 10 different polling booth. Classes at headquarters will be suspended on the day of election.

Total of 2789 and 1668 students will cast their votes in the elections at University Headquarters and Off campuses respectively. There will be no elections at CTE Srinagar and Arts & Science College for Women, Budgam due to current situation of Jammu & Kashmir.

According to Prof. Mohammed Abdul Azeem, Chief Returning Officer, Election campaign which started on 11th September, ended yesterday evening. Supporters of different contesting panels took out rallies to woo the voters. The fight for different posts in the 7th MSU election is quiet open. There is a three cornered contest for President post among Masroor Alam, Mohd. Salman Siddiqui & Shaik Umer Faruq Quadri. The candidates contesting for Vice-President are Intekhab Alam, Sayeeda Alam & Saifur Rahman, whereas Amir, Ammar Jamal & Md. Naushad Alam are pitted against each other for Secretary and Md. Anwer Alam, Fakhra Abda & Zeenath Begum are contesting for the post of Joint Secretary. For Treasurer post, Md. Saquib, Mohammed Shafeeque K & G. Vishnu Priya are the contenders.

20 Executive Committee Members from campus and off campus will also be elected in this elections.

Counting of votes will begin tomorrow, immediately after polling from 2.30 pm onwards followed by declaration of results.

Prof. Syed Alim Ashraf is the Chairman of Grievance Redressal Cell for elections whereas Prof. S M Rahmatullah & Prof. P F Rahman are appointed as the observers. The Returning Officers include Dr. Syed Najiullah, Dr. Syed Khaja Safiuddin, Dr. D. Seshu Babu, Dr. Rizwan Ul Haq Ansari, Mr. Jameel Ahamed, Dr. Sameena Kausar, Dr. Karan Singh Utwal, Dr. Mohammed Abdul Sami Siddiqui, Dr. K M Ziyauddin, Dr. Shabana Kesar & Dr. Mohd. Akbar.

The investiture ceremony for winners would be conducted on September 24.

(Abid Abdul Wasay) Public Relations Officer